2019


Common Lands Trail

Suburban Walks


Great Bordeaux

The Common Lands Trail

300 km of routes • 15 one-day loops • 1 large loop of 170 km

The Common Lands Trail, imagined by Bruit du frigo, offers 300 km of hiking paths through the Bordeaux suburbs.
The route, in the form of a chain with links, is made up of 15 joined loops.
Each loop corresponds to a day’s walk.
A large loop of 170 km, running from one loop to the other, makes it possible to walk around the whole city in 9 days.

 

The Common Lands Trail by the Numbers

  • 300 km of described itineraries
  • 15 one-day loops
  • 1 large loop of 170 kms
  • 60 km in common with the GR® Metropolitain
  • 160 km on footpaths
  • 140 km on roads
  • 1600 m of cumulative positive height difference
  • 45 km along rivers
  • 13 km along the ring road
  • 14 points of view
  • 22 ring road crossings
  • 28 parks, 22 housing estates, 6 social housing complexes, 5 commercial areas, 4 industrial areas, 2 wetlands and 37 roundabouts crossed.


Suburban Walks,

An extraordinary journey into the ordinariness of our contemporary cities

 

A dive into the urban interstices

The Suburban Walks are exploratory walks through the outskirts of the cities. They cross and connect hybrid and fragmented landscapes, composed of housing estates, social housing complexes, old towns, expressways, industrial and commercial areas, car parks and electricity pylons, but also unexpected parks and gardens, forgotten forests, old paths and especially uncountable abandoned spaces where wild nature develops, out of sight. This diffuse and involuntary nature represents a tremendous potential for escape and resourcing, a kind of exoticism of proximity.

 

The suburbs, a land of adventure and exploration

The suburban area has developed to respond effectively to our modern needs for housing, travel, consumption and production.
The resulting chaotic urbanism is often considered useful but uninteresting, and above all devoid of the qualities that make up the city and the pleasures it provides.

However, the urban outskirts have richness to reveal, resources that could change our viewpoint and practices, and build a sense of suburbanity : a huge territory, a great diversity of landscapes, an unsuspected architectural heritage…
Could we not, from this point of view, consider the suburban area as a land of adventure and exploration, like the great natural spaces ? And imagine hiking in the outskirts as we do in the mountains or in the countryside ?

The suburbs offer a new hiking experience. The hybrid and eclectic nature of the territories crossed, where places, atmospheres and sounds follow one another like a continuous zapping, constantly stimulates our senses and gives the walk a new dynamic.

 

The Bordeaux suburbs, unsuspected landscapes

The Bordeaux outskirts are similar to the outskirts of other French and European cities. It has all the generic ingredients of the suburban area : commercial and industrial activity zones, residential areas, social housing estates, road infrastructures, wasteland… 

But it is also a singular and unique territory where the extraordinary hides behind the ordinary. First and foremost, it is distinguished by a great diversity of landscapes. Remarkable entities that have resisted to the pressures of urban development and that today draw a hollow city that we are now trying to protect and enhance.

In the north, the large wetlands of the marshes of the peninsula and Parc des Jalles, suitable for growing vegetables, grazing and gravel pits.
In the south, the rich wine growing hills of Pessac-Léognan and Graves.
In the east, the wild meander of the hillsides, forming a balcony overlooking the town.
In the west finally, the sandy lands and the large pine forests, announcing the infinite landscape of the Landes.

Imperceptibly, rivers cross the city and form long interstices of nature at the bottom of micro valleys : l’Eau bourde, les Jalles, le Gua, le Peugue.

Many major parks surround the town : the Majolan Park and its false romantic ruins (Blanquefort), the Hermitage Park, a gaping hole dug into the hillsides (Lormont), the Bourgailh site with its monumental lookouts and its hill of buried waste (Pessac), the Burthe Domain, which looks like a primary forest (Floirac)…

Innumerable forgotten nuggets and curiosities reappear : abandoned castles buried under the vegetation (Château du Dragon in Bouliac, Domaine de Bel Sito in Floirac), the ruins of an 11th century medieval fortress (Blanquefort), a troglodyte chapel (l’Ermitage in Lormont), Underground stone quarries (Lormont), a building that looks like a Russian dacha (Chalet Alexandre in Lormont), abandoned tennis courts, remnants of a lost fashion (there are about a hundred of them!)…

And to connect all these places, an invisible and sprawling network of paths : old rural roads, spontaneous paths, alleys of housing estates…. Combined, they represent a length of 1200 km, the round trip distance between Bordeaux and Paris !

Finally, the fringes of the Bordeaux suburban area are obviously inhabited and appropriate places. Far from the hustle and bustle of the urban centres, a discreet life unfolds there : the ephemeral and DIY restaurants of the “Dames du Lac” (Bordeaux), the children’s huts around the residential areas, the more or less official vegetable gardens, the traces of wild barbecues, modern hermits and marginal poets ?


The origin of the project

In 1999, Yvan Detraz, then an architecture student and co-founder of Bruit du frigo, led a 3-month, 1000 km walking expedition through the Bordeaux suburbs to map neglected spaces and paths. Before Google map and with the help of a simple geographical map, this mission sought to reveal the potential for escape from the Bordeaux suburbs and to develop a walking culture. (see “Zone sweet zone”).

It is from this founding experience that the concepts of the Suburban Walk and the Suburban Refuge were born.

If in 1999, nobody imagined hiking in the middle of the housing estates or along the ring road, today more and more curious people want to discover their city differently by venturing off the beaten track.

The collective suburban walks that we organise around Bordeaux bring together a large and eclectic public : families, students, walking clubs, seniors… The Suburban Shelters, which offer a unique immersive experience, are also very successful.

It is to respond to this search for exoticism of proximity that we wanted to create this trail and share our knowledge of the territory and its hidden treasures.


Metropolitan Trails Network

The Common Lands Trail of Bordeaux is a member of the Metropolitan Trails Network, created in 2017 in Marseille, on the occasion of the exhibition about the Metropolitan Trails organized at the Mucem Museum (as part of the permanent exhibition “Connectivities”).

This national network (Paris, Marseille, Bordeaux, Avignon) was created as a continuation of the international Metropolitan Trails network (Milan, London, Cologne, Istanbul, New York…) initiated and piloted by Baptiste Lanaspeze (editor – Editions Wildproject) and Paul-Hervé Lavessière (Geographer).

The first National Assises of the Metropolitan Trails were organised on 8 November 2018 at the Mucem in Marseille.

 

” The Metropolitan Trails are public spaces of a new kind. Transport infrastructures, tourist facilities, off-wall cultural centres, citizen platforms, training areas… they allow us to rediscover our living spaces and to foster the emergence of a common culture.
Urban hiking is a social phenomenon, a deep-rooted movement. Coming from the worlds of art and planning, it now interests a large public.
Metropolitan trails are an international innovation, born in France. »

Extract from the website : National Network of Metropolitan Trails


Suburban Walks

An extraordinary journey
into the ordinariness of our contemporary cities

 

> Discover the Common Lands Trail of Greater Bordeaux

A dive into the urban interstices

The Suburban Walks are exploratory walks through the outskirts of the cities. They cross and connect hybrid and fragmented landscapes, composed of housing estates, social housing complexes, old towns, expressways, industrial and commercial areas, car parks and electricity pylons, but also unexpected parks and gardens, forgotten forests, old paths and especially uncountable abandoned spaces where wild nature develops, out of sight. This diffuse and involuntary nature represents a tremendous potential for escape and resourcing, a kind of exoticism of proximity.


The suburbs, a land of adventure and exploration

The suburban area has developed to respond effectively to our modern needs for housing, travel, consumption and production.

The resulting chaotic urbanism is often considered useful but uninteresting, and above all devoid of the qualities that make up the city and the pleasures it provides.

However, the urban outskirts have richness to reveal, resources that could change our viewpoint and practices, and build a sense of suburbanity : a huge territory, a great diversity of landscapes, an unsuspected architectural heritage…

Could we not, from this point of view, consider the suburban area as a land of adventure and exploration, like the great natural spaces ? And imagine hiking in the outskirts as we do in the mountains or in the countryside ?

The suburbs offer a new hiking experience. The hybrid and eclectic nature of the territories crossed, where places, atmospheres and sounds follow one another like a continuous zapping, constantly stimulates our senses and gives the walk a new dynamic.

 


The origin of the project

In 1999, Yvan Detraz, then an architecture student and co-founder of Bruit du frigo, led a 3-month, 1000 km walking expedition through the Bordeaux suburbs to map neglected spaces and paths. Before Google map and with the help of a simple geographical map, this mission sought to reveal the potential for escape from the Bordeaux suburbs and to develop a walking culture. (see “Zone sweet zone”).

It is from this founding experience that the concepts of the Suburban Walk and the Suburban Refuge were born.

If in 1999, nobody imagined hiking in the middle of the housing estates or along the ring road, today more and more curious people want to discover their city differently by venturing off the beaten track.

The collective suburban walks that we organise around Bordeaux bring together a large and eclectic public : families, students, walking clubs, seniors… The Suburban Shelters, which offer a unique immersive experience, are also very successful.

It is to respond to this search for exoticism of proximity and to share our knowledge of the territory and its hidden treasures that we have created the Common Land Trail.

 


The Metropolitan Trails Network

The Common Lands Trail of Bordeaux is a member of the Metropolitan Trails Network, created in 2017 in Marseille, on the occasion of the exhibition about the Metropolitan Trails organized at the Mucem Museum (as part of the permanent exhibition “Connectivities”).

This national network (Paris, Marseille, Bordeaux, Avignon) was created as a continuation of the international Metropolitan Trails network (Milan, London, Cologne, Istanbul, New York…) initiated and piloted by Baptiste Lanaspeze (editor – Editions Wildproject) and Paul-Hervé Lavessière (Geographer).

The first National Assises of the Metropolitan Trails were organised on 8 November 2018 at the Mucem in Marseille.

 

” The Metropolitan Trails are public spaces of a new kind. Transport infrastructures, tourist facilities, off-wall cultural centres, citizen platforms, training areas… they allow us to rediscover our living spaces and to foster the emergence of a common culture.
Urban hiking is a social phenomenon, a deep-rooted movement. Coming from the worlds of art and planning, it now interests a large public.
Metropolitan trails are an international innovation, born in France. »

Extract from the website : National Network of Metropolitan Trails

the last
projects

> all projects

At the crossroads of art, territories and populations, our approach aims to promote the transition to sustainable, shared and welcoming cities, by proposing alternative ways of imagining and building our living environment and by exploring new forms of public space.

2019


Sentier des Terres communes

Les Randonnées périurbaines


Grand Bordeaux

Le Sentier des Terres Communes

300 km de parcours  •  15 boucles d’une journée  •  1 grande boucle de 170 km

Le Sentier des Terres Communes, imaginé par Bruit du frigo, propose 300 km d’itinéraires de randonnée à travers la périphérie bordelaise. Le tracé, en forme de chaîne à maillons, est composé de 15 boucles jointives.
Chaque boucle correspond à une journée de marche.
Une grande boucle de 170 km, cheminant d’une boucle à l’autre, permet de faire le tour complet de la ville en 9 jours.

 

Le Sentier des Terres Communes en chiffres

  • 300 km d’itinéraires décrits
  • 15 boucles d’une journée
  • 1 grande boucle de 170 km
  • 60 km en commun avec le GR® Métropolitain
  • 160 km sur des chemins
  • 140 km sur routes
  • 1600 m de dénivelé positif cumulés
  • 45 km le long de cours d’eau
  • 13 km en bordure de rocade
  • 14 points de vue
  • 22 franchissements de rocade
  • 28 parcs, 22 zones pavillonnaires, 6 grands ensembles de logements sociaux, 5 zones commerciales, 4 zones industrielles, 2 zones humides, et 37 giratoires traversés


Les Randonnées périurbaines,

un voyage extraordinaire dans l’ordinaire de nos villes contemporaines

 

Une plongée dans les interstices urbains

Les Randonnées périurbaines sont des marches exploratoires à travers les périphéries des villes. Elles parcourent et relient des paysages hybrides et fragmentés, composés de lotissements pavillonnaires, de grands ensembles, d’anciens bourgs, de voies rapides, de zones industrielles et commerciales, de parkings et de pylônes électriques, mais aussi de parcs et de jardins inattendus, de forêts oubliées, de vieux sentiers et surtout d’innombrables espaces délaissés où se développe, à l’abri des regards, une nature sauvage. Cette nature diffuse et involontaire représente un potentiel formidable d’évasion et de ressourcement, une sorte d’exotisme de proximité.

 

Le périurbain, terre d’aventure et d’exploration

Le périurbain s’est développé pour répondre efficacement à nos besoins modernes de logement, de déplacement, de consommation et de production.
L’urbanisme chaotique qui en résulte est souvent considéré comme utile mais sans intérêt, et surtout dénué des qualités qui font la ville et des plaisirs qu’elle procure.

Pourtant les périphéries urbaines possèdent des richesses à révéler, des atouts susceptibles de faire évoluer notre regard et nos pratiques et de construire un sentiment de périurbanité : un vaste territoire, une grande diversité de paysages, un patrimoine architectural insoupçonné…
Ne pourrions-nous pas, de ce point de vue, envisager le périurbain comme une terre propice à l’aventure et à l’exploration, à l’instar des grands espaces naturels ? Et imaginer de randonner dans les périphéries comme on randonne en montagne ou à la campagne ?

Le périurbain offre une expérience nouvelle de la randonnée. Le caractère hybride et éclectique des territoires traversés où les lieux, les ambiances et les sons s’enchaînent tel un zapping continu, stimule en permanence nos sens et confère à la marche une dynamique inédite.

 

Le périurbain bordelais, des paysages insoupçonnés

La périphérie bordelaise ressemble aux périphéries des autres villes françaises et européennes. On y retrouve les ingrédients génériques du périurbain : zones d’activités commerciales et industrielles, nappes pavillonnaires, grands ensembles d’habitations, infrastructures routières, grandes enseignes, espaces en friche…

Mais elle est aussi un territoire singulier et unique où l’extraordinaire se cache derrière l’ordinaire. Elle se distingue en premier lieu par une grande diversité paysagère. Des entités remarquables qui ont résisté à l’urbanisation et qui dessinent aujourd’hui une ville en creux que l’on tente désormais de protéger et de valoriser.

Au nord, les vastes étendues humides des marais de la presqu’île et du parc des Jalles, propices au maraîchage, au pâturage et à l’exploitation de gravières.
Au sud, les riches collines viticoles des Pessac-Léognan et des Graves.
A l’est, le méandre sauvage des coteaux, formant un balcon sur la ville.
A l’ouest enfin, les terres sablonneuses et les grandes forêts de pins, annonçant le paysage infini des Landes.

De manière imperceptible, des rivières traversent la ville et forment de longs interstices de nature au fond de micro vallées : l’Eau bourde, les Jalles, le Gua, le Peugue.

De nombreux parcs majeurs s’égrènent tout autour de la ville : le parc de Majolan et ses fausses ruines romantiques (Blanquefort), le parc de l’Ermitage, trou béant creusé dans les coteaux (Lormont), le site du Bourgailh avec ses belvédères monumentaux et sa colline de déchets ensevelis (Pessac), le domaine de la Burthe, aux allures de forêt primaire (Floirac)…

D’innombrables pépites et curiosités oubliées resurgissent : des châteaux abandonnés enfouis sous la végétation (Château du Dragon à Bouliac, Domaine de Bel Sito à Floirac), les ruines d’une forteresse médiévale du XIème siècle (Blanquefort), une chapelle troglodyte (l’Ermitage à Lormont), des carrières souterraines (Lormont), une bâtisse aux allures de datcha russe (Chalet Alexandre à Lormont), des terrains de tennis à l’abandon, vestiges d’une mode révolue (on en dénombre une centaine !)…

Et pour relier tous ces lieux, un réseau invisible et tentaculaire de cheminements : anciens chemins ruraux, sentiers « spontanés », venelles de lotissements…. Cumulés, ils représentent une longueur de 1200 km, soit la distance aller et retour entre Bordeaux et Paris !

Enfin, les marges du périurbain bordelais sont évidemment des lieux habités et appropriés. Loin de l’agitation des centres urbains, une vie discrète s’y déploie : les restaurants éphémères et bricolés des « Dames du Lac » (Bordeaux), les cabanes d’enfants autour des zones pavillonnaires, les jardins potagers plus ou moins officiels, les traces de barbecues sauvages, les ermites modernes et poètes marginaux…


L’origine du projet

En 1999, Yvan Detraz, alors étudiant en architecture et co-fondateur de Bruit du frigo menait une expédition pédestre de 3 mois et 1000 km à travers la périphérie bordelaise pour cartographier les espaces délaissés et les chemins. Avant Google map et à l’aide d’une simple carte IGN, cette mission cherchait à révéler le potentiel d’évasion du périurbain bordelais et à y développer l’itinérance (voir Zone Sweet Zone).

C’est de cette expérience fondatrice que sont nés les concepts de Randonnée périurbaine et de Refuge périurbain.

Si en 1999, personne n’imaginait randonner au milieu des lotissements ou au bord de la rocade, aujourd’hui de plus en plus de curieux souhaitent découvrir leur ville autrement en s’aventurant hors des sentiers battus.

Les randonnées périurbaines collectives que nous guidons autour de Bordeaux rassemblent un public nombreux et éclectique : familles, étudiants, club de marche, retraités. Les Refuges périurbains, qui proposent une expérience immersive unique, rencontrent un vif succès également.

C’est pour répondre à cette recherche d’exotisme de proximité que nous avons souhaité créer ce sentier et partager notre connaissance du territoire et de ses trésors cachés.


Le Réseau des Sentiers Métropolitains

Le Sentier des Terres Communes de Bordeaux est membre du Réseau des Sentiers Métropolitains, créé en 2017 à Marseille, à l’occasion de l’exposition sur les Sentiers Métropolitains organisée au Mucem (dans le cadre de l’exposition permanente « Connectivités »).

Ce réseau national (Paris, Marseille, Bordeaux, Avignon) a été créé dans la continuité du réseau international Metropolitan Trails (Milan, Londres, Cologne, Istanbul, New-York…) initié et piloté par Baptiste Lanaspeze (éditeur – Editions Wildproject) et Paul-Hervé Lavessière (Géographe).

Les premières Assises nationales des Sentiers Métropolitains se sont tenues le 8 novembre 2018 au Mucem à Marseille.

« Les Sentiers Métropolitains sont des espaces publics d’un genre nouveau.
Infrastructures de transport, équipements touristiques, centres culturels hors-les-murs, plateformes citoyennes, espaces de formations… ils permettent de redécouvrir nos espaces de vie et de faire émerger une culture commune.
La randonnée urbaine est un phénomène de société, un mouvement de fond. Issue des mondes de l’art et de l’aménagement, elle intéresse aujourd’hui le grand public.
Les sentiers métropolitains constituent une innovation internationale, née en France.»

Extrait du site : Réseau national des Sentiers Métropolitains

Liens :

Les Randonnées périurbaines

Un voyage extraordinaire
dans l’ordinaire de nos villes contemporaines

 

> Découvrir le Sentier des Terres Communes du Grand Bordeaux

Une plongée dans les interstices urbains

Les Randonnées périurbaines sont des marches exploratoires à travers les périphéries des villes.
Elles parcourent et relient des paysages hybrides et fragmentés, composés de lotissements pavillonnaires, de grands ensembles, d’anciens bourgs, de voies rapides, de zones industrielles et commerciales, de parkings et de pylônes électriques, mais aussi de parcs et de jardins inattendus, de forêts oubliées, de vieux sentiers et surtout d’innombrables espaces délaissés où se développe, à l’abri des regards, une nature sauvage.
Cette nature diffuse et involontaire représente un potentiel formidable d’évasion et de ressourcement, une sorte d’exotisme de proximité.


Le périurbain, terre d’aventure et d’exploration

Le périurbain s’est développé pour répondre efficacement à nos besoins modernes de logement, de déplacement, de consommation et de production.

L’urbanisme chaotique qui en résulte est souvent considéré comme utile mais sans intérêt, et surtout dénué des qualités qui font la ville et des plaisirs qu’elle procure.

Pourtant les périphéries urbaines possèdent des richesses à révéler, des atouts susceptibles de faire évoluer notre regard et nos pratiques, et de construire un sentiment de périurbanité : un vaste territoire, une grande diversité de paysages, un patrimoine architectural insoupçonné…

Ne pourrions nous pas, de ce point de vue, envisager le périurbain comme une terre propice à l’aventure et à l’exploration, à l’instar des grands espaces naturels ? Et imaginer de randonner dans les périphéries comme on randonne en montagne ou à la campagne ?

Le périurbain offre une expérience nouvelle de la randonnée. Le caractère hybride et éclectique des territoires traversés où les lieux, les ambiances et les sons s’enchaînent tel un zapping continu, stimule en permanence nos sens, et confère à la marche une dynamique inédite.

 


L’origine du projet

En 1999, Yvan Detraz, alors étudiant en architecture et co-fondateur de Bruit du frigo menait une expédition pédestre de 3 mois et 1000 kms à travers la périphérie bordelaise pour cartographier les espaces délaissés et les chemins. Avant Google map et à l’aide d’une simple carte IGN, cette mission cherchait à révéler le potentiel d’évasion du périurbain bordelais et à y développer l’itinérance.

C’est de cette expérience fondatrice que sont nés les concepts de Randonnée périurbaine et de Refuge périurbain.

Si en 1999, personne n’imaginait randonner au milieu des lotissements ou au bord de la rocade, aujourd’hui de plus en plus de curieux souhaitent découvrir leur ville autrement en s’aventurant hors des sentiers battus.

Les randonnées périurbaines collectives que nous guidons autour de Bordeaux rassemblent un public nombreux et éclectique : familles, étudiants, club de marche, retraités. Les Refuges périurbains, qui proposent une expérience immersive unique, rencontrent un vif succès également.

C’est pour répondre à cette recherche d’exotisme de proximité et pour partager notre connaissance du territoire et de ses trésors cachés que nous avons créer le Sentier des Terres Communes.

 


Le Réseau des Sentiers Métropolitains

Le Sentier des Terres Communes de Bordeaux est membre du Réseau des Sentiers Métropolitains, créé en 2017 à Marseille, à l’occasion de l’exposition sur les Sentiers Métropolitains organisée au Mucem (dans le cadre de l’exposition permanente « Connectivités »).

Ce réseau national (Paris, Marseille, Bordeaux, Avignon) a été crée dans la continuité du réseau international Metropolitan Trails (Milan, Londres, Cologne, Istanbul, New-York…) initié et piloté par Baptiste Lanaspeze (éditeur – Editions Wildproject) et Paul-Hervé Lavessière (Géographe).

Les premières Assises nationales des Sentiers Métropolitains se sont tenues le 8 novembre 2018 au Mucem à Marseille.

« Les Sentiers Métropolitains sont des espaces publics d’un genre nouveau.
Infrastructures de transport, équipements touristiques, centres culturels hors-les-murs, plateforme citoyennes, espaces de formations… ils permettent de redécouvrir nos espaces de vie et de faire émerger une culture commune.
La randonnée urbaine est un phénomène de société, un mouvement de fond. Issue des monde de l’art et de l’aménagement, elle intéresse aujourd’hui le grand public.
Les sentiers métropolitains constituent une innovation internationale, née en France.»

Extrait du site : Réseau national des Sentiers Métropolitains

Liens :

les derniers
projets

> tous les projets

A la croisée de l’art, des territoires et des populations, notre démarche vise à favoriser la transition vers un urbanisme durable, partagé et accueillant, en proposant des façons alternatives d’imaginer et de fabriquer notre cadre de vie, en explorant des formes nouvelles d’espace public.